Beginnings

Standard

It’s probably a cliché but still – what better time is there to start something new if not right after the New Year? Well, maybe some 30th or 50th birthday would do nicely but I don’t want to wait for those and I needed a kick in the butt NOW, hence the start right after the New Year.

What was the kicking for? For finally engaging in something I’ve been secretly and openly dreaming, thinking and wishing for a very very long time – to start my very own creative journey into the handcrafts world and stay there! So here I am, starting that journey from this blog of all things. But why not? Sooner or later I will need some outlet for all the ideas I’m now bursting with anyway.

Actually I’ve never thought about myself as a particularly creative person. And probably that was my first and biggest mistake, because by thinking I didn’t have enough creativity I just never concentrated any energy on bringing it to a focus and using it for something (and believe me, I know how to concentrate!). But I’ve come to a time in life when I need to choose my “occupation” for the next few years ahead of me and I remembered my lifelong dream. Now is really the perfect time to do something about it!

All my life I’ve been hooked on one handcraft or another, riding on wave after wave of passion for knitting, beading, crocheting, crocheting with beads, making beads, felting, weaving, sewing… you name it. Every time I see some new knitting or beading technique, I lit up with the desire to try it out; I can browse the handcraft supplies shops and especially e-shops for hours and hours (the only competition for them might be bookshops, but even there I get stuck in the handcrafts section); and I always always have some craft project underway (well, usually maybe two or three projects). So I decided to use this passion and this energy for something both fulfilling, exciting and useful – start selling my handiwork. And as soon as I started seriously considering it, my mind just started bubbling with ideas for all the possible beautiful things I could make and hopes that somewhere out there I could find people who would be happy to own my creations. Talk about not being creative!

Maybe this start wouldn’t have been so sudden and “serious” if not for my brother who tried to convince me that there is no way to make a living off the handcrafting, that it’s only an occupation for wives of rich husbands – the husbands can support the family and leave their sweethearts to pursue their dreams that cost a lot and don’t bring any profit. But I don’t believe him and so I set out to prove him (and quite a few others who told me the same thing after I broached the subject) wrong. And this blog will be a kind of “travel journal” to document everything from the very beginning: my creative ideas and their end results (and all the “behind the scenes” in between); my successes and failures (I really hope for only a few of the latter!) while spreading the word about what I do; my life trying to balance this exciting adventure, my studies (I moved to Finland only a year ago and I’m now devoting insane amounts of time to learning Finnish), my family (I have a husband – who supports this endeavour, by the way, although I think he secretly hopes that when it doesn’t work out I’ll find a real job  – and two lovely little time-consuming monsters called kids), and my home (I still am a stay-at-home mommy until this whole thing starts to pay off); and all the other things that will go with everything else.

Please, feel welcome to visit! To read, to chat, to look at nice photos (hopefully I’ll get a hang of using my “fancier” camera soon – maybe I’ll have to write about that as well), to advise… maybe to criticize a little. Because I really hope and will do my very best to achieve success that will both enable me to live my dream and enable all those that believed in me to say with poorly disguised pride: “I know her from the very beginning, and I always believed she’ll do great!” And I intend to write about the path to both these great things here. So come!

2 responses »

  1. Just read through your new secret blog, which I knew nothing about! You even mentioned me here! (I’m famous now! 🙂
    Lovely stuff though (which I also did not know you were actually making!?)
    Let’s see what happens. So far you managed to surprise me, and I am sure others!
    Your best wishing brother 😉

    • I’m surprising myself, truth be told 😀 Love you, bro 😉
      And the blog was no secret – I just wanted there to be something to show in it before I spread the news. I’m new in it and just learning 🙂

Lots of space here for your thoughts. Welcome!

