Family things

Standard

One invariable feature of being a mom: when you want to have some time to be in peace and just do your own thing the most, something concerning children will always interfere. Always. But, at the same time, just as you want to focus on your own thing, there is no greater pleasure than take the time out of your busy day and, in result, see your kid lit up by a happy smile when you put a new slipper with a silly mouse’s “face” onto his foot. It may sound cheesy, but it’s true šŸ™‚ And so that’s the pleasure I’ve been experiencing this weekend.

‘Course, I wouldn’t have bothered “just for fun”, because I really do want to focus on my knitting. But it appears that my little one outgrew the slippers he had in his day-care and when even the patient teachers point such things out, there’s no way around – either I had to buy a new pair, or make one. As I had just brought home a pile of perfect yarn for making woolen slippers (and absolutely for free! Thank you once again, Ana Paula šŸ™‚ ) and all the other “ingredients” were on hand, guess which option I chose šŸ™‚

Here are the results of my home-y weekend: mouse-y slippers for my little boy šŸ™‚

I managed to knit two left foot slippers somehow – and not notice it until I took the slippers to embroider after washing them (four times!), drying and painting the anti-slip soles! – and the anti-slip soles aren’t really as neat as I would like them to be (I need a lot more practice… but do I? šŸ˜€ ), but overall I’m quite happy with how these cute things turned out. And my son was very happy with them! That’s really the main reason for taking the trouble šŸ™‚

If you want something just like that, the pattern is here (though you might consider knitting both left and right slippers after all šŸ˜€ ). I’ve already mentioned the DROPS Design website in one of my previous posts and I stand by my words – it really is an absolutely wonderful knitting resource page.

And now – the weekend’s over so it’s time to get back to “work” and to “my own thing” šŸ™‚

2 responses »

  1. Ahhh, sadly, the days where a mouse face on a slipper could make my sons smile are long gone. Now it would likely take an electronic game or a 20$ bill knitted into the footwear šŸ™‚

    But with each new phase of growth comes newfound pleasant surprises. Wouldn’t trade being a mom for anything!

    Great post!

    • Yes, each age has it’s pleasant sides and the sides that you try to forget very hard when they eventually pass šŸ˜€ I don’t think I will ever miss diapers and sleepless nights… On the other hand, the genuine smiles for the simplest things in life do make that life sparkle brighter šŸ™‚

      Thank you for stopping by šŸ™‚

Lots of space here for your thoughts. Welcome!

