Happy Mother’s Day!

Standard
Happy Mother’s Day!

Ok, I know some of you are now raising your eyebrows and thinking I’ve gone crazy to post this today 🙂 But I haven’t. Apparently (I myself learned this only last year) not everywhere in the world Mother’s day is celebrated at the same time: last year I was quite surprised that Mother’s Day here in Finland is on the second Sunday of May, because all my life in Lithuania we’ve been celebrating Mother’s Day on the first Sunday of May. Hence – my post today: both to congratulate my wonderful, clever, beautiful, indispensable Mom (I love you, mommy, very very much!) and to show my project for this occasion (maybe it will give someone the last-minute-idea they’ve been desperately searching for 🙂 ).

As both my husband’s and my moms have already called about the cards I made them, I am safe in sharing them with all of you because there will be no spoilers for anyone. So here’s what I came up with on Tuesday evening.

I’ve grabbed a few sheets of decorative paper, a little scrap of gorgeous fabric my friend brought me when I was looking for something to decorate my daughter’s nighties with (I saved the scrap because the little princess decided she’d rather prefer a bright-pink sparkling iron-on butterfly than these beauties), some embroidery thread and glue, and set up to make cards from scratch, so to say – for the first time in my life. I’ve made cards before, of course, just not out of plain paper and thread: I usually had card stock and some ready-made card-embellishments I just had to glue in place. Now the process was a bit longer, but easy – really 🙂

I folded the decorative paper and cut out the “card” to fit into a standard envelope, then cut out butterflies from the fabric, glued them in place and embroidered the “branches” the butterflies kind of sit on. As this resulted in those same branches appearing on the inside of the cards, I then just drew a few flowers and leaves with our and our kids’ names inside of them – and made trees on the inside of the cards as well. That left one clear half inside for a greeting words and basically – I’ve got two real cute greeting cards.

So, once again, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, MOM! And all other moms celebrating their very own day today – and those who will celebrate it next Sunday (me including 🙂 ).

* * *

Now on a completely different subject: I spent a wonderful weekend, the highlight to which was a visit to Recycling Factory – an annual event here in Helsinki that I attended for the first time and was completely amazed by the creativity and ingenuousness of some Finnish artists, crafters and designers. The full story with lots of pictures and links will be here soon.

Have a nice Sunday evening and a great start of the new week!

Lots of space here for your thoughts. Welcome!

